March 10, 2017

The Cheltenham Gold Cup Preview

The Cheltenham Gold Cup is a Grade 1 National Hunt race, featuring a 3 mile and 2.5-furlong racecourse with 22 fences that need to be jumped. This race is open exclusively or horses aged 5 years and over. The Cheltenham Gold Cup is also known as the ‘Blue Riband of jump racing’ and is the most valuable non-handicap cash in the UK.

Tune into the action as it takes place on ITV1 on Friday 17th March at 3.30pm.

History of winners

 There have been some interesting winners in the last decade;

  • 2016: Don Cossack with jockey Bryan Cooper – trainer was Gordon Elliott
  • 2015: Conygree with jockey Nico de Boinville – trainer was Mark Bradstock
  • 2014: Lord Windermere with jockey Davy Russell – trainer was Nicky Hederson
  • 2013: Bobs Worth with jockey Barry Geraghty – trainer was Dessie Hughes
  • 2012: Synchronised with jockey Tony McCoy – trainer was Jonjo O’Neill
  • 2011: Long run with jockey Sam Waley-Cohen – trainer was Nicky Henderson
  • 2010: Imperial Commander with jockey Paddy Brennan – trainer Nigel Twiston-Davies
  • 2009: Kauto Star with jockey Ruby Walsh – trainer was Paul Nicholls
  • 2008: Denman with jockey Sam Thomas – trainer was Paul Nicholls
  • 2007: Kauto Star with jockey Ruby Walsh – trainer was Paul Nicholls
  • 2006: War of Attrition with jockey Conor O’Dwyer – trainer was Mouse Morris


Only one racehorse has managed to bag the first prize for three consecutive years in this competition, that was Best Mate in 2002, 2003 and 2004 – nobody has managed to match this, but Kauto Star won in 2007 and then again in 2009. When it comes to racehorse trainers, Paul Nichols has proven his worth time and time again, with three consecutive wins in 2007 with Kauto Star, 2008 with Denman and again in 2009 with Kauto Star.

Get the latest Cheltenham Gold Cup Odds

Leave a Reply